Sunday, October 04, 2009

2009 Divas - Marlene Contest Winners

Young Adult;
Final judge: Kristin Daly, Balzer & Bray/Harper Collins
Author critique: 2008 double Rita finalist Kelly Parra

winner: Witch's Boy by Yvonne Yirka
first runner-up: Bloom by Shelly Coriell
second runner-up: Soul Purpose by Mary Lindsey

Series Contemporary;
Final judge: Patience Smith, Silhouette
Author critique: The Pink Hearts Society (Donna Alward, Jenna Bayley-Burke, Ally Blake, Nicola Marsh, Natasha Oakley, Trish Wylie
(winner to receive at least one critique from PHS depending on type of series she or he is targeting)

winner: Catch a Star by Amanda Berry - UPDATE Sept 2009: Manuscript sold to Patience Smith for Silhouette Special Edition
first runner-up: In Deep by Meredith Clark
second runner-up: Room for Two by Sarah Elizabeth Davis

Romantic Elements;
Final judge: Jennifer Enderlin, St. Martin's
Author critique: American Title III winner and WRW member Jenny Gardiner

winner: Flowers, Veils, & Shotgun Shells by Caren Helms
first runner-up: Evil Eye by Elizabeth Heiter
second runner-up: Fortune's Fool by Jane Sevier
third runner-up: Stronger than Bone by Kendra Elliott
fourth runner-up: Lakota Dreaming by Connie Gillam

Single Title;
Final judge: Latoya Smith, Grand Central Publishing (formerly Warner Books)
Author critique: 2008 Rita winner Kristan Higgins

winner: Alive at 5 by Linda Hurtado
first runner-up: The Naughty Never Die by Laurie Kellogg
second runner-up: The Swing of her Hips by Suzanne Kaufman Kalb

Final judge: Tracy Farrell, Luna & HQN
Author critique: NY Times Bestseller Gena Showalter

winner: The Totally Tubular Adventures of Carrington Morris by Gwen Hayes
first runner-up: A Sweet But Deadly Desire by Laurie Thompson
second runner-up: Witch Ever Way You Can by Deborah Blake

Final judge: May Chen, Avon
Author critique: 2006 Rita winner and WRW member Diane Gaston

winner: Handsome Jack by Tamara Berry
first runner-up: Fallen Angels in Paradise by Cathy Leming
second runner-up: Musical Ties by Nicole Penttila
third runner-up:The Aviatrix by Christina E. Johnson

Contest Deadline was January 15, 2009
Washington Romance Writers

Contest Diva Leaders:
Advancement highlighted in blue:

Two Finals:
Deborah Blake
Yvonne Harris
Beth Watson
Amanda Berry
Arianna Skye
Amy Talley
Penny Watson

No comments: